Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > Arowana Forum > Arowana Discussion

Old 17-11-2014, 06:28 AM   #1
Mfank

Exclamation Small silver arowana questions

Hi, my names Matt
I am new to Arowana keeping and arofanatics, i have recently bought a 4"-5" silver. He seems to be settling into his new 46 quite nicely. he is eating floating pellets (i cut them up into small pieces)

I was wondering how many times a day i should be feeding him?i been feeding him twice a day right now.
Also how much each time should i feed him? the full pellet is approx. 1/2 inch long and 1/4 thick (cylinder shape)

Also what is the ideal Ph level? ( at about 7.5 right now )

Thank you!
Old 17-11-2014, 12:36 PM   #2
beepoobee
Arofanatic

feed him at least once a day as he is still small.. twice a day is good. remove uneaten food.

as for PH.. as long as it is between 6.5 to 8.. is ok... most important is stability.
beepoobee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2014, 02:08 PM   #3
HuttShun
Dragon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfank View Post
Hi, my names Matt
I am new to Arowana keeping and arofanatics, i have recently bought a 4"-5" silver. He seems to be settling into his new 46 quite nicely. he is eating floating pellets (i cut them up into small pieces)

I was wondering how many times a day i should be feeding him?i been feeding him twice a day right now.
Also how much each time should i feed him? the full pellet is approx. 1/2 inch long and 1/4 thick (cylinder shape)

Also what is the ideal Ph level? ( at about 7.5 right now )

Thank you!
Hi Matt,

What's the tank dimension that you're keeping your juvenile silver arowana in? 46 gallons is too small to contain it in the long run, as silvers are known to grow to at least 18" effortlessly.