Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > Arowana Forum > Tank set-ups, Filtration & Water Management

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-06-2013, 04:54 PM   #1
Squid
Endangered Dragon
 
Squid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 8,034
Default Dirt from sump going back to main tank

Do you guys experience dirt from sump going back to main tank when doing water change? I just upgraded my powerhead to a stronger pump and after installing it my tank is all cloudy
Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2013, 04:57 PM   #2
itchy
Endangered Dragon
 
itchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,159
Default

Just for a while after you turn on the pump right?
Maybe is the dirt from the piping ?
itchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2013, 05:13 PM   #3
llewellyn
Dragon
 
llewellyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,479
Default

Probably from the dirt,debris stuck at the piping..... Unless you did some stiring inside your sump water.
llewellyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2013, 05:15 PM   #4
Squid
Endangered Dragon
 
Squid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 8,034
Default

My pipe is new , ill check again in a while hope it clears up soon .i do notice my sump seems to have lots of dirt?

Last edited by Squid; 15-06-2013 at 05:17 PM.
Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2013, 05:16 PM   #5
itchy
Endangered Dragon
 
itchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squid View Post
My pipe is new , ill check again in a while hope it clears up soon .
Will clear up very fast from your mechanical filters, no worry. Mine also every time restart the pump got dirts go in tank but clear up shortly.
itchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2013, 05:18 PM   #6
Squid
Endangered Dragon
 
Squid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 8,034
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by itchy View Post
Will clear up very fast from your mechanical filters, no worry. Mine also every time restart the pump got dirts go in tank but clear up shortly.
Ty bro really appreciate advise
Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2013, 05:34 PM   #7
alcohologist
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squid View Post
Do you guys experience dirt from sump going back to main tank when doing water change? I just upgraded my powerhead to a stronger pump and after installing it my tank is all cloudy
this could also explain the cloudiness.
your media was not 100% clean, and now that water is moving past them at a higher velocity, the sediment is being washed off in situ and returning to your display tank. your mech will take care of it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2013, 05:36 PM   #8
Squid
Endangered Dragon
 
Squid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 8,034
Default

Thanks have to add more mech filters
Squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)