Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > Arowana Forum > Tank set-ups, Filtration & Water Management

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13-05-2017, 11:59 PM   #11
millenium
Senior Dragon
 
millenium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,492
Default

I have been using fluval, never has any problems for 7 years other than I spoil the impeller a few times because I pump it when the impeller is on. That is a no no and I learn it the hard way.
millenium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 08:49 AM   #12
Kirin
Dragon
 
Kirin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 529
Default

All my canisters I didnít put in any wool just the medias the outlet hose I connect it to a OHF top tray wools only bottom trays all oyster shells doing this method for few years already canister so far so good didnít clog. When I do WC I also donít like to switch off all the pumps i just let it run.
Kirin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 09:12 AM   #13
CZQ
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirin View Post
All my canisters I didnít put in any wool just the medias the outlet hose I connect it to a OHF top tray wools only bottom trays all oyster shells doing this method for few years already canister so far so good didnít clog. When I do WC I also donít like to switch off all the pumps i just let it run.
the mechanical filtration is at the outlet?
CZQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 09:39 AM   #14
millenium
Senior Dragon
 
millenium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirin View Post
All my canisters I didnít put in any wool just the medias the outlet hose I connect it to a OHF top tray wools only bottom trays all oyster shells doing this method for few years already canister so far so good didnít clog. When I do WC I also donít like to switch off all the pumps i just let it run.
As long as the water level during water change dun go too low, I dun off the filter. Every three months wash once never clog before.
millenium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 11:16 AM   #15
millenium
Senior Dragon
 
millenium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,492
Default

Just wash my canister filter, no clog and can probably last another 2-3 months even if I Dun wash it.
millenium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 11:21 AM   #16
CZQ
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by millenium View Post
Just wash my canister filter, no clog and can probably last another 2-3 months even if I Dun wash it.
the mechanical filtration can last 3 months? is the bio load very low?
CZQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 12:42 PM   #17
Kirin
Dragon
 
Kirin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CZQ View Post
the mechanical filtration is at the outlet?
Yes, the outlet as mechanical filtration.
Kirin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 12:48 PM   #18
Kirin
Dragon
 
Kirin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by millenium View Post
As long as the water level during water change dun go too low, I dun off the filter. Every three months wash once never clog before.
Agree as long as the water lever above the inlet, many years ago every few months I also used to check the canisters changed the wool and wash the medias but very tedious as what Bro llewellyn mention so in the end I used this method whenever WC time the OHF wool dirty easy open the cover and change it.
Kirin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 02:27 PM   #19
millenium
Senior Dragon
 
millenium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirin View Post
Agree as long as the water lever above the inlet, many years ago every few months I also used to check the canisters changed the wool and wash the medias but very tedious as what Bro llewellyn mention so in the end I used this method whenever WC time the OHF wool dirty easy open the cover and change it.
For canister, U can use a round hard foam to filter before going into the inlet.
millenium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 06:42 PM   #20
CZQ
Arofanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirin View Post
Yes, the outlet as mechanical filtration.
inlet no mechanical filtration?
CZQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)