Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > AroReefers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30-08-2013, 02:07 PM   #1
Aces
Arofanatic
 
Aces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 486
Default Fowlr

Just to check if I intend to do a FOWLR tank how to I do the tank cycling?

I mean just add some rocks not coral and 2 or 3 marine fishes.. don want very intense coral heavy high maintences set up.
Aces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2013, 03:03 PM   #2
KaLiB
Moderator
 
KaLiB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,635
Default

Cycling procedure is the same as with any marine tank.

If the rocks are not cured, they should produce enough die-offs to kickoff the cycling process. If not, you can just add a small piece of market prawn.
__________________
A fishtank is just like your computer. When your tank crash(OS crash), its time to cleanup(reformat hard drive) and setup(install OS) again and add new livestock(re-install software).
KaLiB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 10:53 AM   #3
Aces
Arofanatic
 
Aces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 486
Default

dear, thanks for your reply. I think I will use the dead prawn to cycle the tank. thanks but need find space to accomodate a fish tank in the room
Aces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 12:26 PM   #4
domvonn
Senior Dragon
 
domvonn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,125
Default

how big will ur tank be ? cube tank ?
domvonn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 09:01 PM   #5
Aces
Arofanatic
 
Aces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domvonn View Post
how big will ur tank be ? cube tank ?
bro i thinking of setting up just a 2 feet tank but not so soon.. I used to have an IQ5 which failed due to tank crush.. this time round don't wann keep live rock and coral.. just want to keep marine fish =)
Aces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 10:58 PM   #6
domvonn
Senior Dragon
 
domvonn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3,125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aces View Post
bro i thinking of setting up just a 2 feet tank but not so soon.. I used to have an IQ5 which failed due to tank crush.. this time round don't wann keep live rock and coral.. just want to keep marine fish =)
Good also lah , lower maintenance .

But FOWLR also with LRs . Probably some nice scaping plus fish will be cool

Looking forward for your postings!

Iq5 really too challenging .
domvonn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 11:58 PM   #7
EvolutionZ
Endangered Dragon
 
EvolutionZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,566
Default

FOWLR best to go 3ft or higher.. you'll tend to overstock and 2ft is really small but still better! hope to see your tank soon!
EvolutionZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)