Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > AroReefers

Old 05-07-2012, 02:20 PM   #1
Oceanfish
Arofanatic

Default New 1.5 feet tank marine start up

Dear Bro and Sis,

Need your help and guidance here..

I am a newbie in marine tank without any experience on the set up

Would really like to keep marine tank for so long ago but discourage by the frequent thought of extreme difficulty of it.

But now, Would like to try on my 1.5 feet

Was wondering whether:
1) hang on filter dolphin H200 is suitable for marine tank?
2) any particular marine salt to buy? apart from marine salt do I need other components to constitute salt water?
3) saw all the tank set up very sui here with all the live rocks. where to get the live rocks,?
4) Is protein skimmer really necessary?

My Tank description
45 cm (L) x 20 cm (w) x 25 cm (H)
Office aircon constant 22 degree celcius constant
Reverse osmosis water
Hang on filter

Intent to keep 2 clown fish, 1 shrimp, 1 other fish, 1 coral only
Simple set up to learn before proceed to bigger tank.

Would really appreciate any kind help and comments here

Thanks again
Oceanfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 03:28 PM   #2
KaLiB

Welcome to the marine fishkeeping hobby.

With patience and doing some homework on the species your interested in, it'll go a long way to help you succeed in this hobby.

1) Yes, you can use that for a 1.5ft tank.
2) For a start, you can try coralife or redsea brand salts.
3) Liverocks are usually bought from the marine LFS or from other hobbyists.
4) Not necessary. You can still setup and run a successful tank without protein skimming.

It'll be good to monitor the water temperature since your office aircon is at a constant 22deg. You might have to use a heater if the water temperature falls too low. The recommended range is 26-28deg for tropical marine tanks.
Old 05-07-2012, 06:23 PM   #3
Oceanfish
Arofanatic

Hi Bro,

Thanks for the kind advice,