Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > Planted Tanks & Aquascaping Forum

Old 12-07-2011, 03:12 PM   #1
Elindra
Dragon

Default Planted tank for Terrapins - Need Help

I’m thinking of setting up a planted tank for my terrapins
However, I have ZERO experience with planted tanks
Would appreciate if any bros can help answer the questions I have and also advise me of anything I missed out

Lighting – Any kind of special lighting needed? The tank will not be near a window so is there a special light required for photosynthesis?

Equipment – Is a CO2 needed or can I do without?

Substrate – I’m thinking of fine river sand in case the terrapins ingest some accidently. Is it ok? Will it work for plants especially if I want some parts with carpeting kind of plants?

Plants – Appreciate suggestions that will be easy for a beginner to upkeep

Fertilizers – Is it necessary?

Thanks in advance bros
Elindra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 06:09 PM   #2
Jon-san
Senior Dragon

Easy plant would be nanas. I especially like nana petite. Cute, but expensive...
Jon-san is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 07:09 PM   #3
lyk

Will your terrapin eat the plant?
Old 12-07-2011, 08:28 PM   #4
Eric9013

Bro i don think you would succeed with Terrapins in a plant tank, they will either eat off your plant or dig up the root and messed up yr setup
Old 13-07-2011, 11:20 AM   #5
Elindra
Dragon

Mine don't like vegs so I'm not too worried about the eating part

Hmmm what about those plants tied to DW and maybe those mats? Will those work and if so can someone pls help answer my questions.

Thanks
Old 13-07-2011, 11:28 AM   #6
gracy
Dragon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elindra View Post
I’m thinking of setting up a planted tank for my terrapins
However, I have ZERO experience with planted tanks
Would appreciate if any bros can help answer the questions I have and also advise me of anything I missed out