Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > General Freshwater Forum

Old 26-01-2015, 03:33 PM   #1
BettaFillet
Dragon

Default Suggestions to deal with algae

Hi everyone! My name is Joseph, currently studying in NTU. I was tasked with a project to study if it was possible to reduce the amount of algae present in a pond. One of the suggestions available was to introduce fishes/crustaceans into the ecosystem to help feed on algae. However, I am unsure of what species and type of fishes/crustaceans that can be introduced. Please recommend! Thanks
BettaFillet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 06:59 PM   #2
cheng wei jian
Arofanatic

Namely, the common suckerfish, or even the Chinese algae eater, hope this helps and good luck with the project, sorry ah I'm only a sec school student so I'm not that scientific
cheng wei jian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2015, 08:38 PM   #3
Nevin
Dragon

Hi Joseph, before introduce any type of algae eater into your outdoor pond, you have to identify which type of algae or algae issue that your project is deal with.

If deal if algae that growth on the surface of pond walls, sucker (Pleco) would be an efficient algae eater with low cost.

If it is hair algae, Siam algae eater would be another option.

If it is green water issue, avoid excessive sunlight and install UV would sold the problem as well.

Anyway, good luck for your project, I am in NUS, yr 4 student
Nevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2015, 10:47 AM   #4
BettaFillet
Dragon

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheng wei jian View Post
Namely, the common suckerfish, or even the Chinese algae eater, hope this helps and good luck with the project, sorry ah I'm only a sec school student so I'm not that scientific
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevin View Post