Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > Arowana Forum > Tank set-ups, Filtration & Water Management

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29-08-2014, 10:08 PM   #21
ongchi8
Arofanatic
 
ongchi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 60
Default

i think its not the media.. i encounter this problem before using different media...

i post that thread on the stingray forum..

i fell frustrated so i reset my tank using new media, suspecting that it might be the media that cause my ph to rise... but here it goes again.. the same problem

there should be something wrong with my water... but i dont know

our water system at home has a water softener for the whole house... and pass by a carbon filter before it goes to a hose for my water change...

all my other tanks are ok with some arowanas on it..

only this tank with some rays previously occupying it has a problem...

does water softener cause it?
or the carbon filter?

but i have lots of friend hobbyist using it also and all of them are fine...
ongchi8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-08-2014, 02:17 PM   #22
Oneiromancer
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,613
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ongchi8 View Post
i think its not the media.. i encounter this problem before using different media...

i post that thread on the stingray forum..

i fell frustrated so i reset my tank using new media, suspecting that it might be the media that cause my ph to rise... but here it goes again.. the same problem

there should be something wrong with my water... but i dont know

our water system at home has a water softener for the whole house... and pass by a carbon filter before it goes to a hose for my water change...

all my other tanks are ok with some arowanas on it..

only this tank with some rays previously occupying it has a problem...

does water softener cause it?
or the carbon filter?

but i have lots of friend hobbyist using it also and all of them are fine...
Hmm.. putting pH aside for awhile, how are the occupants doing? Are they eating well and not exhibiting unusual behaviour? What are your other parameters?
Oneiromancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 08:07 AM   #23
ongchi8
Arofanatic
 
ongchi8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 60
Default

there are still no fishes inside the tank because it my 1st day of cycling..
ongchi8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 03:55 PM   #24
Oneiromancer
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,613
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ongchi8 View Post
there are still no fishes inside the tank because it my 1st day of cycling..
As long as it's stable, I personally feel that it's no issue. Fluctuations kill. Also lower pH kills off your BB.
Oneiromancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 05:36 AM   #25
ken_yg
Arofanatic
 
ken_yg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 217
Default

The increase in PH got to do with aeration, which is different in each tank/filtration system.
It is also related to pump flow rate & any air stones setup in the tank that increase tank aeration, thus increasing O2 & reduction of CO2.
I would think you have a good filtration system that also help to maintain high O2.

Quote: http://www.myaquariumclub.com/how-to...arium-498.html

● Aeration - Increasing the oxygen concentration in your water will serve to drive down the carbon dioxide concentration. As discussed above, less carbon dioxide translates to a higher pH. Therefore, you can increase the aeration in the tank to raise the pH.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ongchi8 View Post
i think its not the media.. i encounter this problem before using different media...

i post that thread on the stingray forum..

i fell frustrated so i reset my tank using new media, suspecting that it might be the media that cause my ph to rise... but here it goes again.. the same problem

there should be something wrong with my water... but i dont know

our water system at home has a water softener for the whole house... and pass by a carbon filter before it goes to a hose for my water change...

all my other tanks are ok with some arowanas on it..

only this tank with some rays previously occupying it has a problem...

does water softener cause it?
or the carbon filter?

but i have lots of friend hobbyist using it also and all of them are fine...
ken_yg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2015, 10:56 PM   #26
tommyn
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 39
Default

Tank filled up with AC, no pump running since last week.

15/04 @ 0030hrs on pump and added BB
15/04 @ 1500hrs on of hydra stream
15/04 @ 1530hrs added TFB
15/04 @ 2130hrs took test.
PH 7.4
Ammonia 0.25ppm
Nitrite 5.0ppm
Nitrate 10ppm

Noob here, are the readings acceptable? Will it be ok to let tank to cycle for a week then add in aro?
tommyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2015, 11:31 PM   #27
AdamC
Arofanatic
 
AdamC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 220
Default

Fish-less cycle is tricky and often unsuccessful. You need some level of bioload to trigger the nitrogen cycle.
AdamC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2015, 11:56 AM   #28
shiokmc
Endangered Dragon
 
shiokmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 16,304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamC View Post
Fish-less cycle is tricky and often unsuccessful. You need some level of bioload to trigger the nitrogen cycle.
well.... .. best source of 'natural' ammonia never fails me... .. .. 24hrs also rays can go iN
shiokmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2016, 11:08 PM   #29
tru3xaznxb0i
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 19
Default

im currently in this situation.. my ammonia levels are really high, and also doing 20-30% wc daily.
tru3xaznxb0i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2019, 10:55 AM   #30
Ong88

Prof SK Ong
 
Ong88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 10,632
Default

Effective hack is to use donor biofiltration material/media from matured tanks.

Been doing it all this time.

Just make sure the filtration is same type.
Had bad experience using donor from submerged sump media in a new OHF FILTER, the ohf was aerobic filtration fast flowing water while sump is more anaerobic gentler flowing water.
__________________



Just because it's a bad idea doesn't mean it won't be a good time.
Use imgur for your photos sharing
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...m.imgur.mobile

Last edited by Ong88; 18-07-2019 at 10:58 AM.
Ong88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2000-2008 Arofanatics.com (Since 30th August 2000)