Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > Planted Tanks & Aquascaping Forum > Aquascapers Equipment, DIY and Hardware

Old 13-11-2010, 03:49 PM   #1
Jucino
Dragon

Default Just sharing a NOOB-ish DIY project

I would like to share this project with this forum and also to look for pointers and improvement on it. This is my very first time on DIY and this project might seem very amateurish or even , nonsensical to some of you here. For that I apologize and I look forward to sharing and learning more from every one.

The project is on this wooden cube box that I've gotten from my mum's shop.Its been used by me as a tank stand for my 2ft tank on top of it and in the inside of it as you can see in the picture its used for breeding bettas. The breeding tank was retired and soon, the space inside the box was used to store my fish keeping clutter.Due to my lack of tidiness, the clutter was soon unsightly to me, and to my mum(one major reason why I brought myself to do this project)

Thus, I decided to do something about it , and the concept that I thought of, was to hide everything away from sight. My brain was storming for days to come out with ideas for doing that . Initially I thought of installing mini cafe curtains or even mini blinds on the opening of the box but the thickness of the wood is just too thin and not suitable for drilling deep enough to be able to support the weight of the latter.

Its during the midst of my brain storming that i chance upon a thread on this forum, of this bro setting up his 6 ft tank . (I can't seem to find the thread ). He was using the plastic boards that I used for carding my bettas to cover up the sides of this tank stand. I thought it was a brilliant idea !