Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums  

Go Back   Arofanatics Fish Talk Forums > General Aquatic Forums > Guppy Forum

Old 02-11-2009, 10:47 AM   #1
arofreak

Default how to improve the strain for begininer

I am new to guppy keeping.
I would like to have those Full Red.
If I start with those 80cents type which bought from LFS and breed and enhance them, will I be able to achieve the Full Red. or I have to buy the better quality one to start off.

Since I am new and I don't mind to take longer time, and enjoy the progress. Furthermore, if the guppy die, also not so hard pain.
Can anyone point to the link to read more on the breeding and how to enhance the colour for guppy.
Thanks.
Old 02-11-2009, 11:13 AM   #2
AngryMan
Senior Dragon

Default Guppy

Since you are new, don't encourage you go direct to those strain as they are not cheap. Maybe you can try 80cents first to gain experience before moving to a better strain.

Quote:
Originally Posted by arofreak View Post
If I start with those 80cents type which bought from LFS and breed and enhance them, will I be able to achieve the Full Red. or I have to buy the better quality one to start off.

Since I am new and I don't mind to take longer time, and enjoy the progress. Furthermore, if the guppy die, also not so hard pain.
Can anyone point to the link to read more on the breeding and how to enhance the colour for guppy.
Thanks.
AngryMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 11:39 AM   #3
lucasrock
User Under Moderation

Quote:
Hello...u mean start off with LFS 80 cts red colour fish, and try to develop them into a quality Full Red???

Probably never.....if just using those 80 cts LFS fishes.

People here tell you to keep those 80 csts fish ...is just to know the basics, how to keep fish alive, breeding, raising the young...etc.

and then....move to to buy better quality fish. Note...better quality also means more expensive.
lucasrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 01:02 PM   #4
Xmant
Dragon